ISO Certification-EAS


ISO means International Organisation for Standardization; its independent and non-government that set standards to ensure safety, quality and efficiency. ISO Certification process is carried out by a third party and not by ISO. The main reason for this process is to ensure that the products, process and services provided by a company conform to acceptable international standards. With the certificate, small businesses can prove their ability in quality and consistency on projects or tenders offered by larger corporations. Around the world, there are certification bodies example ISO certification in India can be carried by Empowering Assurance Systems Pvt Ltd (EAS)

Difference between accreditation and certification

From above accreditation is the formal recognition by an independent body that a certification body (third party) operated according to the requirements of international standards. Certification on the other hand, is the provision by the third party such as EAS that a product, services or system of company or organization meets the requirements of international standards.

For example, EAS, a certification body, have been accredited by Joint Accreditation Systems of Australia and New Zealand (JAS ANZ) which is a national accreditation body and member of International Accreditation Forum (IAF). If your apply for certification, EAS will check the feasibility of handling your certificate and subsequently conducts audit in your organisation and will issue certificate, which will have EAS logo and JAS-ANZ logos. This means your organization is certified by EAS which is accredited by JAS-ANZ. In simple terms, Accreditation is like providing licence to issue certificates as per the set procedures.

International Accreditation Forum (IAF)

IAF is an international forum which holds the members of all ISO Accreditation bodies. This forum discusses and agrees upon the common issues and control to be exercised on the certification bodies. Members mutually agree to recognise the Certification bodies and the certificates issued by such certification bodies. This enables the ISO certificate to be globally recognized.

System Interpretation

When you want to apply for ISO certification services, you will observe that the ISO Certification Company provides audit that refers to a particular arrangement most common for example ISO 9001:2015, From the sample, the order has three components ISO,  9001 and 2015

The interpretation of the above order is as follow:

  • ISO; refers to the International Organization for Standardization
  • 9001; this classifies the type of standard, for this case ISO 9000 family usually refer to quality management standards operated under specific principals.
  • 2015: refers to the version of the standard.

Understanding ISO standards

ISO has over 22,000 published rules that are listed under different categories, below is a few of the classification.

  • ISO 9000; family of quality standards, you can apply for this certification through EAS
  • ISO 14001; family for environmental management. (Provided by EAS)
  • ISO 50000; family of energy audit (Provided by EAS)
  • ISO 27000; family of information security management (Provided by EAS)
  • ISO 39000; family of road traffic safety management
  • ISO 22000; family of food safety management systems (provided by EAS)
  • AS 9000; family of aerospace basic quality system standards.

Reasons why you need ISO Certification

There are different standards which gives importance to various activities. First and foremost the basic standard which deal about managing a system to deliver a consistent management system is termed as QMS

ISO 9001:2015 –Quality Management System (QMS) Certification

By adopting quality management standards, the level of quality for the entire organization

  • Improves customer satisfaction by offering high-quality products.
  • Revenue increases due to royalty from customers who are satisfied with the products.
  • There is consistency in operations and better employee morale.
  • There is improved efficiency and reduction of wastage in the processes

ISO/IEC 27001:2013 – Information Management System

  • Mitigates your risk against cybercriminals who are always looking for new ways to breach your security and compromise sensitive corporate data
  • It builds clients’ the confidence to know that highest standards of information security are used to ensure their data security
  • Ensure improvement since it’s done annually; this guarantees implementation of the latest best practices

ISO 22000:2018- Food Safety Management System

  • To grow company profits.
  • To reduce the rate of Food borne disease.
  • For assurance of safer food,
  • To improve resources utilisation.
  • For a systematic recording of procedures, techniques and methods regarding the handling of food.

ISO 50001:2018- Energy Management System

  • To increase profits through the reduction of operation cost reduction
  • For continued improvement of energy-related process.
  • To reduce emissions of greenhouse gasses because of efficiently using energy.

ISO 14001:2015- Environmental Management System

  • Aids to improve overall environmental impact
  • Reduce waste.
  • Improve resource efficiency
  • To meet legal obligations.
  • To enhance the overall ecological impact.
  • To gain a competitive advantage in the supply chain
  • To assure management of environmental impact

All the international standards provide a neutral framework for the organisations to follow, once you are certified, you will enjoy access to new business opportunities and benefits. The process is simple and affordable

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WhatsApp chat